Web Accessibility Support
Campus News

Howard University Holds Bi-Annual Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Howard University Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes 38 members and teams.

by Nylah Lee
Bison awards

On September 30, 2022, the bi-annual Howard University Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held in the presence of over 450 current and former student-athletes, coaches, faculty and staff. The event, sponsored by Bison Express, honored the accomplishments of 38 trailblazing members and teams of the Howard University Athletic community.

For inductees like Saadia Doyle (BS ’13, MSW ’15), MEAC’s all-time leading scorer in women’s basketball, the award was an incredible honor.

“It's surreal,” voiced the All-MEAC, who, in her four years with Howard University women’s basketball, averaged 18.0 points per game and maintained the MEAC record for free throws in a single season. “When I look back at it, I never dreamed of receiving this special honor. It is very humbling.”  

Joining Doyle in as a Hall of Fame Inductee is Nic Askew (BS ’01), Howard University alumnus, current tennis director, and swimming and diving coach of eight seasons. As director of the only NCAA Division I swimming and diving team in the country, Askew has spent over two decades making a lasting impact on Howard Athletics.

The Buffalo Soldier Award, honoring special contributors to the Howard Athletics program, was also presented to nine honorees. These honorees included the late Shellie Bowers, the Howard athletics PA announcer of over 30 years known for coining the instantly recognizable chant: “HU, You Know!”

“Athletics has always been and will forever remain an essential component of the Howard University experience, both for those who actively participate in them and for those who observe our sports and cheer on our teams,” wrote Howard University President Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick in the opening letter of the program. “Our ventures in the athletic arena are perfectly aligned with our mission in the classroom.”

Athlete Inductees

Nic Askew, Pat Boyd, James Breakfield, Oliver Bridges, Camille Chatoor (Richards), Mike Davey, Kenneth Davy, Saadia Doyle, Jason Guyton, John Holloway, Dwight O.W. Holmes, Billy Jenkins, Charles Jupiter, Adrienne Lofton, Deborah Murphy, Marques Ogden, Steve Powell, Herman Redden, Lucy Diggs Slowe; Reggie Sojourner, Adrian Thompson, Arnie Young, Courtney Young, and Ronald Waldo Wilson.

Administrator Inductee

Major Gladden

Coach Inductee

Organ, John Team Inductees:

1961 CIA Men's Golf Champions

1982 and 1983 4x400 Men's Relay Teams

1995 Wrestling Team

Buffalo Soldier Award Inductees

Alveta Addison, Shellie Bowers, Jr., Warren Craddock, Darryl Dennis, Portia Garrett, Peter Keiller, Erica Kennedy, Thomas Payne, and Alexander Williams.


This story appears in the Winter 2023 - Special Edition issue.
Article ID: 1266

Keep Reading

More In...

Campus News